Poem by Jason Williams

I’ll build a better me, in case tomorrow isn’t my day

Today, I’ll love me, today I’ll be strong

Be careful who you let go, today I’ll hold on

Memories from a lost time, visitors from a lost mind

Highly educated, motivated but still I caused crimes

Streets narrated my events, as I passed time

Use my words. When I represent, and I blast mine

And verbally, incapable of holding back, I’m owning that.

Don’t blame me, blame God, he got control of that

He left me, with the reason, to advocate the meaning

So, I ain’t with the BS now, cuz I ain’t using that

And word to the wise, tread slow and pace breath

Cuz you never know, if that next one the last one left

As the days goes pass, I remember I’m blessed

Because I can always remember reasons, to say I’m stressed

But I’m in good health, and my kids are too

And no matter what I can’t, there always something I can do

And it owe it to the rooms, and the people who keep it green

The still sick and suffering, know exactly what I mean

Because it is great to have somewhere, where you relate

And are able to express your views, without experiencing hate

So I strive to be better, and express how I do

Hopefully, you’ll understand, that I appreciate you

I am inspired by people, I want what they got

I see the have’s strive, because they once were have nots.

I’ve seen men with felonies, go to own their own businesses

I’ve seen old school pimps, go to marriage from owning women

I’ve seen tons of hallowed people, open hearts and find love

Not realizing they’re broke, to getting fix and finding up

We use to get a fix, start the spiral and held down

I am inspired by the people who came, and stuck around.

I am inspired by the people who have and want more

Who realized they have a voice, and chose not to be ignored.

Who take what they have, and go help those in need.

Those who choose to give back, those people inspired me

Thoughts of a broken man, I need a fix

I hope for a different response, doing the same shit

Sorry, if I’m ungrateful but I deserve better

And I changed and Nothing’s changed, when will I see better

Not soon we all know, but I pray for progress.

RIP Jason, March 11, 1982- November 7, 2021

He came and stuck around-took what he had, and helped those in need

About danizoey

recovery coach and health advocate, former- telephone operator, secretary, autoworker, prevention educator, case manager, seminary dropout, auctioneer, bootlegger's granddaughter, - always opinionated, struggling to act justly, to love mercy and to walk both humbly & proudly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment